Article in the section Articles about the Music Journalist of the Year award

logo for the Music Journalist of the Year award on Musicians' Corner




   Ladies and gentlemen, the moment has arrived when we announce who the recipient of the first annual Music Journalist of the Year-award is.


  The nominations for this award came from you, our visitors. And the artist jury have chosen their winner among these.



   We are proud to announce that the Music Journalist of the Year-award 2014 goes to


   Derek Walmsley is deputy editor at The Wire. And these are two examples of his excellent journalistic work during 2014:






   The jury's motivation for the award reads as follows:



"Derek Walmsley has an obvious passion for music and the infinite roots of its history. His work is enlightening and well-written. Details are combined with complexity in a way that makes you want to read more. Walmsley’s articles are nuanced and make insightful connections. The reader is informed through his articles and can no longer sit by as a passive consumer. This is elevated writing. It is deep and comprehensive. This is what we need more of today. Derek Walmsley is deserving of the award and should receive it."


The artist jury at Musicians’ Corner 2014:
Jean-Paul Bourelly
Svante Karlsson
Chris Simmons

The jury for the Music Journalist of the Year award: Jean-Paul Bourelly, Svante Karlsson, Chris Simmons



  The award will be presented to the recipient later this year.