Article in the section Articles about the Music Journalist of the Year award

Music journalist of the year Ruth Saxelby

The Music Journalist of the Year 2015 is Ruth Saxelby.

Earlier in the year Musicians' Corners' artist-jury elected Saxelby, currently at The Fader, as the recipient based on your nominations.

And yesterday Ruth Saxelby received her much deserved award in New York.

Singer Emma Larsson presented the award.

The artist jury's motivation for awarding Saxelby's journalistic work is:

Ruth Saxelby is our choice. We have done many interviews, and questions can occasionally feel contrived. Saxelby's approach to questioning artists keeps the interest of the reader, while moving the subject matter in a cohesive manner.  As performance artists ourselves, we appreciate her insight and attention to the topic. It was refreshing to read about subjects we don't often read about, such as the inspiration of a film composer. Saxelby is a talented writer, and we hope that she will have many years of unique and insightful journalism.

The artist-jury for the award this year are Kent Beatty, Will Calhoun and Mfa Kera.

This was Musicians' Corner's second annual Music Journalist of the Year-award. In 2015 it first went to Derek Walmsley.

The importance of quality music journalism can't be overestimated, and we very much want to acknowledge it here at Musicians' Corner. We look forward to following Ruth Saxelby's work in the coming years.

Ruth Saxelby:

Emma Larsson:

Kent Beatty:

Will Calhoun:

Mfa Kera:

The Music Journalist of the Year-award for 2014:

The Music Journalist of the Year-award: